You are now leaving the Independent Bank website. Linked web pages are not under the control of Independent Bank, its affiliates or subsidiaries. Be aware the privacy policy of the site to which you are going may differ from that of Independent Bank. Independent Bank provides external links as a convenience and is not responsible for the content or security of any linked web page.

Click "OK" to continue or "Cancel" to go back

Ok Cancel

Officers & Directors

Senior Management

Michael M. Magee Jr.
Chairman of the Board
Mr. Magee was appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors on April 26, 2011. He was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of Independent Bank Corporation effective January 1, 2005 and retired as CEO on December 31, 2012. He served as Chief Operating Officer of Independent Bank Corporation from April to December, 2004. From 1993 until April 2004 he was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Independent Bank. He joined Independent Bank Corporation in 1987.
William B. Kessel
President and Chief Executive Officer
Stefanie M. Kimball
EVP - Chief Risk Officer
Ms. Kimball was appointed EVP and Chief Risk Officer in September 2012. She joined the Company in April 2007 as Executive Vice President - Commercial Lending. Prior to joining Independent Bank Corporation, she had been with Comerica Incorporated for 25 years, most recently serving as Senior Vice President - Credit Strategies and Solutions.
Robert N. Shuster
EVP & Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Shuster was appointed Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of the Company in 2001. Prior to this appointment, he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Independent Bank MSB since 1999 and was President and Chief Executive Officer of Mutual Savings Bank, f.s.b since 1994. Mr. Shuster is a certified public accountant. Mr. Shuster received his degree from the University of Michigan.
Dennis J. Mack
EVP - Chief Commercial Lending Officer
Mr. Mack was appointed Executive Vice President – Commercial Lending in July 2012. He joined the Company in May 2009 as Senior Vice President – Credit Administration. Prior to joining Independent Bank, he had been with Comerica Bank for 25 years, most recently serving as Senior Vice President - Credit Administration for the Business Banking, Private Banking, and SBA national divisions. Mr. Mack received his Bachelors of Business Administration from Western Michigan University.
Larry R. Daniel Jr.
EVP - Operations and Digital Banking
Russ Daniel has held numerous roles with the Company, including most recently Senior Vice President of Retail and Mortgage Lending at Independent Bank. In his new role, he will be responsible for Loan Servicing, Deposit Operations, IB Insurance Services, as well as Independent’s digital banking strategy. Mr. Daniel joined Independent Bank over 19 years ago as a commercial lender, after nine years of commercial and retail bank management experience in both Baltimore, Maryland and West Michigan. He has a BBA from William and Mary and an MBA from Western Michigan University. He is currently Board Chair of the State of Michigan Habitat for Humanity and a Board Member of the Habitat Michigan Fund.
Patrick J. Ervin
EVP - Mortgage Banking
Patrick Ervin joined Independent Bank in September 2016, as Senior Vice President Mortgage Banking. He has been instrumental in leading the organization’s growth into additional markets in Southeast Michigan and Ohio, more than doubling Independent’s mortgage volume in 2017. Mr. Ervin brings 25 years of experience in the mortgage arena with a resume that includes 1st Vice President Standard Federal Bank and Vice President TCF Bank. Most recently, he was Executive Managing Director Mortgage Banking and Servicing at Talmer Bank and Trust, where he grew retail originations to over $1.4 billion annually and managed over $6 billion of mortgage loan servicing.

Board of Directors

Michael M. Magee Jr.
Terance L. Beia
William J. Boer
Lead Independent Director
Joan A. Budden
Michael J. Cok
Stephen L. Gulis Jr.
Terry L. Haske
Christina L. Keller
William B. Kessel
Matthew J. Missad